Diary of a Working Mom: Finding a Healthier Me

 

I am going to be brutally honest, I am completely overweight and out of shape! I have been since I had my son. I was the girl at the gym 5-6 days a week on and off throughout my 20s and 30s and now I am the mom on the couch after a long day at work and doing “mom stuff”. It’s not an excuse, it’s a fact. I made the decision to put my kid, my family and my career first and the price was the expansion of my ass and stomach.

I like to pretend I’m OK with it, but I hate looking at myself in the mirror if it goes “Tits down”. I have Rubbermaid bins full of clothes that I swear I am going to fit back into if it kills me because I refuse to buy any more clothes at the size I am at. I used to love when my husband hugged me from behind and now I run away from it scared he will touch my flabby stomach or one day his arms just won’t fit around me anymore.

I understand I brought life into this world, and that I may never get my body back and I am OK with that…but I am not OK with the body I have created since giving birth. What has transpired in the last 3 years is on me. This is no longer baby weight, it’s mom life weight. The size and weight I am now is more than I as when I gave birth.

I know how this happened…it is because I have spent the last 3 years at my son’s beck and call, working my butt off to secure a position at a job and company I love, helping my husband with our home and our son and there was nothing left at the end of it all for me.

My husband has been pretty great, he tells me to go out with my friends some Friday nights to have some adult time, and he takes on all the weight that comes with our home life for those few hours so I can feel human again. It has helped that since becoming a Mom I have narrowed my friend pool to an amazing group of people that I have so much fun with, but I am doing nothing for my overall health and emotional well-being.

So it is time to do something for me. It is time to get healthy again and see what my new body is going to look like. I joined a gym that is attached to my work so there is no excuses. I have been getting up a little earlier and going into work so I can get a work-out in and still be home early enough to make dinner for my family. I am not one to make resolutions but my son is 3 going on 4 and is not as needy so 2017 is going to be the year of ME.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

4 thoughts on “Diary of a Working Mom: Finding a Healthier Me

  1. I am in the same boat! My boy is 2, almost 3, and I STILL have not lost the weight from having him. I was overweight to begin with so, yeah….

    Between work, home, kid, husband, etc. I just have not made the time to fit “Lose Weight” into my field of vision. I, like you, am trying this year!

    Thanks for the inspirational post and good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

