Letter to Samantha Brick

Dear Samantha Brick,

While I think it is great that you are confident and want the world to know that YOU find yourself highly attractive, I also understand the backlash you have been getting.

The saying beauty is in the eye of the beholder rings true in life. What one person finds attractive, another may not, as is the case here.

To publically declare (in the media) that you are so attractive and that is the reason people “don’t like you” is mind boggling. And please don’t misunderstand me; I’m not saying this because I am jealous, or because I believe women should not be confident in their looks and say so, or because I believe only men can say they are attractive. I say this because how you portrayed yourself came across as extremely cocky, not at all endearing, and cocky is not very attractive in a male or a female.

To ME it’s what’s on the inside that counts – beauty fades and all you are left with is what is inside YOU (your personality and your mind – hopefully). And from the article(s) it seems that once your looks go, there is not much more to you, which is sad.

What also causes concern for me is that you are using your “self-confidence” and self-proclaimed attractiveness to justify the slights you feel you have gotten personally and professionally throughout your life. Could it be because you happily dance over the fine line of confidence and cocky and do a jig on the wrong side? Because that is the impression I and many get from your article(s).

I don’t blame what some may call my “girl next door” looks or my “exotic features” for the friends I have lost, or the wedding parties I was not invited to be a part of. I don’t think my looks has helped nor hindered my job opportunities – it was what my personality or expertise brought or didn’t bring to the table that was a factor in those things.

Views like yours are one of the reasons why 8-10 year old girls and boys are starving themselves. Why teenage girls and boys are cutting themselves or worse ending their lives. Why plastic surgery is on the rise. Why people don’t take responsibility for WHO they are and just blame things on WHAT they look like. It’s because people like you put too much value on what’s on the outside, instead of what’s on the inside.

From your article(s), I highly suggest you start looking inside yourself and start working on YOU instead of looking in the mirror and worrying about how good YOU look.

;

The Original Article By Samantha Brick: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2124246/Samantha-Brick-downsides-looking-pretty-Why-women-hate-beautiful.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

The follow-up Article to the backlash By Samantha Brick: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2124782/Samantha-Brick-says-backlash-bile-yesterdays-Daily-Mail-proves-shes-right.html

Leave a Reply

