Close encounter with the “Starbucks Cougar Crew”

Redesigned logo used from 2011-present.
Image via Wikipedia

It was raining in Toronto yesterday, a very miserable day; people were not in the best of moods, me included. So when I was heading to my local Starbucks to get my morning kick in the a$$ I encountered a woman walking in the middle of the parking lot, head down under her raincoat hood and umbrella. It was actually more like fast staggering, swerving from side to side, which is what happens when you aren’t really watching where you are going and just trying to stay dry.

I stayed a good distance behind her for a few seconds going about 10 km/h just inching along and when she started cutting to the left I went to go around her on the right. I was wrong, she darted back to the right and I stopped dead. I wasn’t upset with her, its freaking pouring out! I’m sitting in my dry car and I’m in no rush. She however, is getting soaked, so I was more than prepared to go at her pace, but I wanted to let her know I was behind her in case she decided to make any more sudden movements so I tapped my horn. When she turned around I smiled and waved at her and carried on driving towards the Starbucks at her pace. I parked my car and headed to the door, getting there before the woman so I held it open for her – she says nothing to me, No thank you, nothing.

When she gets inside she walks towards what I call the SCC – Starbucks Cougar Crew.  This is a group of 45 to 55-year-old men and woman who are trying to recapture their 20’s – from the way they dress, to the way they talk, even one of the couples in the group “treats” us to more PDA (Public Display’s of Affection)  than two teenagers at a bus stop. The SCC think that they own this Starbucks, they cut in line; talk loudly (at 7:30am) so all can hear how “interesting” they are, it’s obnoxious to say the least.

As she walks towards the SCC’s she loudly proclaims “See the girl who walked in behind me? She had the nerve to honk at me to get out of her way – the nerve of some people!”  I was ticked! Not because she felt I slighted her, it was a simple misunderstanding, but because she decided to announce it to everyone in Starbucks. If you are bold enough to do that then why not just say something to me directly? I couldn’t hold my tongue.

I turned from the Barista taking my order and said “I was not honking at you to get out of my way. I was honking at you because you were swerving all over the parking lot and I wanted to let you know there was a car behind you so you didn’t get hit!” to which she replied like a child with “Whatever” and threw herself in the chair with the rest of the SCC’s.

What is wrong with people? Not only was my intention good, but it was completely misunderstood, and when I voiced that it was a misunderstanding I was met with “Whatever”. My co-worker told me that public transit commuters are a little moody in bad weather, but that is no reason to be rude to others who were trying to be nice.

Moral of this story: No good deed goes unpunished or is appreciated, so next time – and there will be a next time, I’ll “love” tap her with my car roll down my window and say “Whatever”. 🙂

One thought on “Close encounter with the “Starbucks Cougar Crew”

Leave a Reply

